WHERE’S YOUR WATCHPOST?

watchtowerREFERENCE
Habakkuk 2:1 [ESV] I will take my stand at my watchpost and station myself on the tower, and look out to see what he will say to me, and what I will answer concerning my complaint.
Habakkuk 2:1 [Message] What’s God going to say to my questions? I’m braced for the worst. I’ll climb to the lookout tower and scan the horizon. I’ll wait to see what God says, how he’ll answer my complaint.

EXPLORATION
The verse stresses the importance of the work of humans alongside the work of God. In the first half of the verse Habakkuk determined to station himself so as to receive the revelation of God. In the second half of the verse the prophet expected that God would indeed answer Habakkuk’s complaint.
Wherever his watch post was, the prophet went there to withdraw from normal society and concentrate specifically on God and what God would say when God decided to speak.
It is a wise man who takes his questions about God to God for answers.  – from New American Commentary

APPLICATION

Concentrate on God, on what God would say, when God chooses to speak.
Take time and find a place to look, to listen, to learn from God.
Where is your watchpost? Your tower?
Where do you go to get with God?
Where do you go to get anyway from godlessness?
How often in time spent with God the priority, the purpose, the plan?

PRAYER
Father God,
I spend way to little time with you.
Make it a priority for my life.
Show me what you would purpose me to do or say.
Help me with the plan to accomplish it.
Teach me to pray before I plan
Teach me to meditate before I maneuver
Teach me to proclaim your purpose, not my own.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

