THE GIFT

gift1REFERENCE
John 14:27 [ESV] Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.
John 14:27 [Message] I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.
John 14:27 [NLT] “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.

EXPLORATION

I like the way the New Living Translation reads: I am leaving you a gift.
Ever get a gift from someone you loved and that you knew loved you, but when you opened the gift – you didn’t have a clue – like, “what is it?”
Everything in me believes that Jesus loves me and I love him too. But “peace of mind and heart” – like, “what is it?”
Whatever it is – now that I’m the owner of “peace of mind and heart” – He goes on to say, “So don’t be troubled or afraid”
Perhaps I’m just a bit slow or something like that, I did turn 55 today. But at first glance it had seemed to me that not being troubled or afraid were the by-product or the benefit from the gift.
The more I reflect on the verse the more I’ve come to believe that Jesus’ statement; “So don’t be troubled or afraid.” – isn’t the result of peace of mind and heart but rather the instructions.

APPLICATION
Jesus gives us this gift: peace of mind and heart
But the gift comes with instructions: So don’t be troubled or afraid.
So, reality check: Don’t we all have troubles and fears?
Are we willing to give them up for the gift?
Which leads to yet another question, “So, how do I get rid of the troubles and fears?”
My guess, “Give them to Jesus!”

PRAYER
Father,
You love us so much that you gave us your Son, Jesus loves us so much that He gave us the Holy Spirit, and the Holy Spirit loves us so much that He reveals to us all truth.
Teach me to give up my crap, and let me sit in your lap.
Thank you for loving me.
Thanks for the gift and the instructions.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

