TAKE AN HONEST LOOK

trust1REFERENCE
Psalm 56:3 [ESV] When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.
Psalm 56:3 [NLT]  But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you.
Psalm 56:3 [Message] When I get really afraid I come to you in trust.

EXPLORATION
There is a progression in these translations that is worth noting.

In the [ESV] we have the standard religious cliche, “When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.” – it’s what we say not necessarily what we really do.

In the [NLT] there is a little more honesty, the whole; “But when… I will” We don’t really trust God for the air we breath, the food we eat, the money we earn, the house we live in, etc., etc., etc.. BUT WHEN those things are jeopardized, then I WILL put my trust in you to make things right.

In the [MESSAGE] we get total honesty, “When I get really afraid I come to you in trust.”
REALLY AFRAID! In total honesty we turn to God LAST not first. We turn to him when we see no other way, we often come with this kind of trust; “You’re my last chance!”

APPLICATION

Yesterday was the 4th of July, lots of celebration, lots of food.
Quit making God the leftovers, and start making Him the main dish.
Learn to go to God always, with everything.
Ever wonder about your conversion?
Who do you spend the most time with in conservation?
God is not a “AAA” card you keep in your wallet or purse for emergencies or is He?

PRAYER

Father
Teach me to come to you more often with praise, rather than petition
Teach me to come to you more often
Teach me to come
Teach me

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

