GOING DEEPER

prodigalgod
REFERENCE

1 John 1:9 [ESV] If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness
1 John 1:9 [Message]  On the other hand, if we admit our sins—make a clean breast of them—he won’t let us down; he’ll be true to himself. He’ll forgive our sins and purge us of all wrongdoing.

EXPLORATION
When a newspaper posed the question, “What’s Wrong with the World?” the Catholic thinker G.K. Chesterton reputedly wrote a brief letter in response: “Dear Sirs: I am. Sincerely Yours, G. K. Chesterton.”

That is the attitude of someone who has grasped the message of Jesus.

APPLICATION
When we think of repentance we think, “If you want to get right with God, you get your list of sins and you tell him how sorry you are about each item.” Repentance is not less than that, but it is much more … to find God we must repent of the things we have done wrong, but to truly become a Christian we must also repent of the reasons we ever did anything right.

PRAYER
Father,
Teach me to learn to repent of the sin under all of my sins, and under all of my righteousness – the sin of seeking to be my own Savior.
I admit that I’ve put my ultimate hope and trust in things of than You and that in both my
wrongdoing and my righteousness I have been seeking to get around You or control You in order to hold on to those things.

Today’s Life Journal Meditations are largely based on readings from Timothy Keller’s Book: The Prodigal God

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

