Why Does Honesty Feel Like A Wrestling Match?

Rooted

REFERENCE
John 15:7 [ESV]  If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.
John 15:7 [GWT] If you live in me and what I say lives in you, then ask for anything you want, and it will be yours.

EXPLORATION
I love the, ‘then ask for anything you want, and it will be yours” part of the verse. Who wouldn’t, it sounds like keys to a candy store, [think bigger], toy store, [think bigger] auto dealership. Now we’re headed down the same road.

But it’s the, “If you live in me and what I say lives in you,” part that’s been eating at me most of the day. I started with this verse early this morning and I’ve been wrestling with it against a question I was asked on Sunday “In your daily life does Jesus matter””
In my daily life, does Jesus live in me?
In my daily life, does what His word abide in me?
I think I pick and choose when Jesus gets in and when He doesn’t.
I think I pick and choose which commands to obey and which to ignore.
I think I pick and choose when to be relational and when to be religious.
I think I believe He lives in me, does my bidding, more I live in Him and do His.

It’s not as though I just think of Jesus as fire insurance. No, No! I’m much holier than that. No I think of Jesus more as aspirin, someone to run to when I’m hurting.
I need to think of Jesus as God, a loving God.

APPLICATION
I’m being reminded: The perquisite to grace, is knowing I need it!
“If you abide in me, [No, I don’t … not enough]
and my words abide in you,” [No, they don’t … not enough]

PRAYER
Jesus, Jesus, Jesus!
Teach me to abide
Teach me to obey
Change my heart Oh Lord, make it ever true
Change me heart oh Lord, help me be like you.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

