GOD AT WORK

blown up

REFERENCE
Proverbs 25:28 [ESV]  A man without self-control is like a city broken into and left without walls.
Proverbs 25:28 [Message] A person without self-control is like a house with its doors and windows knocked out.
Proverbs 25:28 [NLT] A person without self-control is like a city with broken-down walls.

EXPLORATION
In Nehemiah chapter one, when Nehemiah learns about the condition of Jerusalem, he prays to God and repents.
When I read this verse in the proverbs, I pray to God and repent. For I am a man without self-control in so many areas in my life.
APPLICATION
Only the Holy Spirit can make a man to see his own brokenness, for our hearts are deceitful and not to be trusted.
Having revealed to me my true nature, I like Nehemiah confess, repent and ask for mercy.
Call it what you may but this day, the doors are knocked down, the windows are blown out and I’ve laid myself before the Lord begging for mercy.

PRAYER

Note I wrote in my ESV Study Bible after reading Nehemiah chapter one, and before reading this proverb.
this day 081109 – may Nehemiah’s prayer be my prayer. I have sinned and I confess my sins, I have not kept your commandments, statutes, or rules, I have ignored the Holy Spirit and my belief has been ever so shallow. I’ve sinned against you and against others. But this day, this day – I return to you. Redeem me, by your great power. Hear my prayer, teach me to fear your name, and grant me mercy.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

