UGLY LIST! Hope you aren’t on it!

listREFERENCE
2 Timothy 3:1-5 [ESV] But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. 2 For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, 3 heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, 4 treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, 5 having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people.

2 Timothy 3:1-5 [Message] Don’t be naive. There are difficult times ahead. 2 As the end approaches, people are going to be self-absorbed, money-hungry, self-promoting, stuck-up, profane, contemptuous of parents, crude, coarse, 3 dog-eat-dog, unbending, slanderers, impulsively wild, savage, cynical, 4 treacherous, ruthless, bloated windbags, addicted to lust, and allergic to God. 5 They’ll make a show of religion, but behind the scenes they’re animals. Stay clear of these people.

EXPLORATION
I own some of these titles [descriptions] some of the time.
Should people avoid me? Absolutely if I’m acting out on any of these characteristics in front of them.

APPLICATION
Perhaps more important than avoiding such a person,
is avoiding being such a person.

PRAYER
Father,
I read the list and some of the descriptions seem to be default characteristics of my personality.

“lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God” – it’s weird I don’t wake up that way, and seldom fall to sleep that way; but somewhere, sometime, somehow, it creeps up on me and my self-interest bulldozes God’s will. Change me Father, I don’t want any part of these verses describing who I am or how I act.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to UGLY LIST! Hope you aren’t on it!

  1. lemonytree says:

    ”I wonder if its Religion or is it Just People”

    Like

Leave a Reply

