WHAT IS REPENT?

bos-cafe1REFERENCE
Acts 3:19 [ESV] Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out
Acs 3:19 [ESV] Now it’s time to change your ways! Turn to face God so he can wipe away your sins, pour out showers of blessing to refresh you,
Acts 3:19 [GWT]  So change the way you think and act, and turn to God to have your sins removed.

EXPLORATION

I have since way back when [a long time ago] been taught that repentant means to change your mind and behavior. Repentance requires a 180-degree turn in direction.
So I asked myself; “How is that working for you?” Answer, not to well, I often find myself confessing and repenting of the same sin.
We’ve been taught wrong! Repentance is not changing your mind and your behavior.“Repentance isn’t even doing something about your failure.  Repentance is admitting you can’t do anything about your failure.
It’s not just agreeing  you’ve done something wrong; it’s admitting you can’t do what needs to be done to make it right. God waits and yearns for that moment with everything in Him.”
from the novel; Bo’s Cafe.

APPLICATION

I’m going to quit trying to change me, and allow God to do what God wants to do.
For example, when I get anxious; I eat!
The sin isn’t eating, but that’s what I “repent” of, that’s what I turn from, [usually to late] and that is what I find myself doing “yet again”.
The problem is, “why am I anxious?”
I need to get to admitting my failure, admitting I can’t do what needs to be done to make it right. But God can!

PRAYER
Father,
There are times when for some reason I don’t allow You to be big enough.
My anxiousness is really lack of trust, low self-esteem, pride and shame.
Yet, because of Christ Jesus, Your Word says; I’m a new creature.
Help me believe it!
Help me with what I truly can not help myself with.
In Jesus’ precious name

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHAT IS REPENT?

  1. D says:

    Interesting take on this. Hmmm… I like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

