WHO IS THE DEVIL?

devil mask
REFERENCE

John 8:44 [ESV] You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.
John 8:44 [Message]  You’re from your father, the Devil, and all you want to do is please him. He was a killer from the very start. He couldn’t stand the truth because there wasn’t a shred of truth in him. When the Liar speaks, he makes it up out of his lying nature and fills the world with lies.

EXPLORATION

This is a scary verse, Jesus is talking to religious leaders, “paid professionals” like myself.
There are a couple of things to contemplate:
1] it’s good to know your enemy. The verse says the devil was a killer from the start. What did he kill? People, angels, probably; but very indirectly. He kills dreams, hopes, and creates fears. He is great at shame, and blame. And before you know it you don’t believe in yourself and you can’t imagine that God believes in you.
2] the verse ends with, “and fills the world with lies”. Which took me a whole different direction.
I’m wondering on any given day; “Which am I, agent of the devil or ambassador of God.
In my selfishness, pride, and arrogance the devil wins, Holier than thou comes off stinky!
In my humbleness, humility, hunger for God, Jesus brings a sweet aroma.

APPLICATION
Don’t let the devil win.
Think Jesus
Hear Jesus
Share Jesus

PRAYER
Father,
In my arrogance I think the devil is such a punk, such a loser; wanting to be Your equal, wanting control, wanting attention, wanting worship. And then the Holy Spirt whispers, “And so how is it that your different?” Ouch! On the days that I make life more about me than about you, I spread the Devil’s lies, I live them!
So, forgive me. Change my heart!
May today be more about Jesus than about me

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

