THANK GOD FOR BEAUTY PAGEANTS

REFERENCE
Psalm 29:11 [ESV] May the Lord give strength to his people! May the Lord bless his people with peace!
Psalm 29:11[Message] God makes his people strong. God gives his people peace.

EXPLORATION
I like that Eugene Peterson in the Message took out the word “may” and left in the word “his”.
Bottom line it’s about what God does and for who.
So if God makes his people strong, and gives his people peace. What does that mean?
What is strength? What is peace?
When I think of peace anymore the first thing that pops into my head is beauty pageant contestants promoting “world peace”.  And for some reason I equate strength or being strong to weight lifting.
I don’t think the Psalmists had either one in mind. He was  amazed at God’s power during a storm and probably marveled even more at the calmness after the storm.
I think peace is the calmness that God would have his people experience, before, during and after a storm.
I think strength is having the ability to call on God for help before, during and after a storm.

APPLICATION

What is your storm?
Mine is my pride, my selfishness, my need for instant gratification
Mine is my secrets, and my lack of self control.
My storms  keep me from peace, will I learn to trust God for the strength I need?

PRAYER
Father,
For some reason I am content to live in the chaos.
Teach me to live in peace, give me strength!

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment