GREATEST DESIRE!

REFERENCE
Psalm 119:105 [ESV] Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
Psalm 119:105 [Message]  By your words I can see where I’m going; they throw a beam of light on my dark path.

EXPLORATION
Conversation with Eugene Peterson the author of the Message.
God isn’t a reference book in a library that we pull off the shelf when we want information. There’s nothing inert or bookish in these words. God’s words, creating and saving words every one, hit us where we live.
The words of God aren’t words that we laboriously study, as if for an exam. They aren’t words that we anxiously scan lest we inadvertently transgress a boundary. They’re words we take in- words designed for nourishing new life in us, feeding the energies of salvation. This delight develops into meditation. Meditating on God’s Word is not a rote exercise but a revolutionary one that doesn’t simply teach us but transforms us.

APPLICATION
Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.

PRAYER
Father,
May my greatest desire be to spend time reading the Bible and praying.
May my second greatest desire be to spend time reading the Bible and praying with others.
Grant me my desires I pray.

 


About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

