OH TO KNOW THE FATHER’S LOVE

REFERENCE
Luke 15:20 [ESV] And he arose and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him.
Luke 15:20 [Message] He got right up and went home to his father. “When he was still a long way off, his father saw him. His heart pounding, he ran out, embraced him, and kissed him.

EXPLORATION
This is a pretty incredible story of love. There is nothing in me that thinks it was a chance glance that caught the Father attention. I’m guessing he looks far down the road, for long periods of time with some frequency. And then he spots him, his heart jumps, he’s all excited, he runs. He runs, He embraces, He kisses.
Later in the story the father is telling the older son; “…this is a wonderful time, and we had to celebrate. This brother of yours was dead, and he’s alive! He was lost, and he’s found!’”
We recognize that this father’s love is meant to help us envision our Heavenly Father and His love for us. I think there is something very subtle we need to learn from the parable. When the younger son goes away to do his own thing, we don’t see the father running after him, begging him not to go. True love allows for choice.
But when the son returns, “…WE HAD TO CELEBRATE…” Right choice allows for love.

APPLICATION
I’ve got a dream, a hope, a prayer, a wish, a great expectation, and here it is.
I become resigned to the fact that I’m going to sin.
But if I could really, really grasp just how great God’s love is…
I’d like to learn to turn right smack in the middle of sinning and stop and turn to my Father.
I’ve become an expert at turning to Him after I’ve sinned.
I dream, I hope, I pray, I wish, I except to turn to Father, during a sin.
Then, “We’d have to celebrate!”

PRAYER
Father,
Oh that my longing for you would be as great as Your love for me.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

