HAPPY NEW YEAR: Calling all brothers and sisters

READING
1 Samuel 3 and Mark 3

EXPLORATION

Thoughts from 1 Samuel 3: With a heart that is still sensitive to the repetition of the word “immediately” in my reading of Mark 1 the other day. It is no surprise to be caught up with wonder again as I hear the phrase “Here I am” repeated over and over again in this chapter and the repetition of the “Lord calling”.  I marvel at the grace of God, He called Samuel three times, then the fourth, we read: v.10 And the LORD came and stood, calling as at the other times. When the LORD calls, do I find myself saying “Here I am” or “just a minute”? The chapter ends with: v.19 and Samuel grew, and the LORD was with him …v.21 … for the LORD revealed himself to Samuel by the word of the LORD. If I’m to experience the nearness of God and grow – it’s going to be proportional to the time I spend in the word of the LORD.
In Mark 1 there was an urgency – “immediately” repeated over and over, in Mark 2 the first command, “Follow me” and in chapter 3 we see a “calling.” v. 3 “come here” v.5 “stretch out your hand” v.8 they cam to him, v. 13 and he went up on the mountain and called to him those whom he desired, and they came to him. v.23 and he called them to him. With a sense of urgency, a command to follow and now a calling – who is this all directed to? vv,34,35: “Here is my mother and my brothers! For whoever does the will of God, he is my brother and sister and mother.
APPLICATION
Here we are the very first day of a New Year and I feel challenged by the Lord. From a sense of urgency that has been brewing for a few days. To the command to “follow me” and sensing that Jesus is talking to me to. To the coincidence of having a Daily Bible Reading Program that puts 1 Samuel 3 and Mark 3 together on the same day and both of them talk about “calling”. I’ve got to ask – Is God calling to me? YES! To follow Him? YES! What is He calling me to? 1 Samuel 3:21 … for the LORD revealed himself to Samuel by the word of the LORD.  He is calling me to a commitment to be in the word consistently!  He is calling me to obedience, Mark 3:34,35 “Here is my mother and my brothers! For whoever does the will of God, he is my brother and sister and mother. He is calling me “Brother” – when I do His will.
PRAYER
Father,
In Jesus name, by the power of the Holy Spirit, may I experience your presence, like Samuel did, follow you like the disciples did, and be obedient to the will of God, like other brothers and sisters are. Together may we bring You glory and honor. Keep me thirsty not for knowledge, but for a sense of knowing, knowing You.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HAPPY NEW YEAR: Calling all brothers and sisters

  1. Jenniffer Hosler says:

    I too was stunned by the words of calling in 1 Sam 3 and Mark 3. However, the challenge to me is the choice. In Mark 3 Jesus called the 12 and they came to him. Hannah, Eli, Eli’s sons, Samuel, Jesus, Levi, John the Baptist,, James etc.. HOw did they recieve their call and how did they respond. In my reading I looked for choice. I find that blindness comes from self righteousness – Eli’s son- vision and guidance from the faith of not assuming our rigtness and instead listening to Gods call. Hearing the call is the key to making the choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

