IMMEDIATELY!

Today’s Bible Reading: 1 Samuel 8 / Mark 6

REFERENCE

Mark 6:50 [ESV] for they all saw him and were terrified. But immediately he spoke to them and said, Take heart; it is I. Do not be afraid.
Mark 6:50 [Message]  Jesus was quick to comfort them: “Courage! It’s me. Don’t be afraid.”

EXPLORATION
Perhaps I’m starting to sound like a broken record, [guessing there are young people asking, “what is a record?’] But once again, I’m perplexed, curious, anxious; about Mark’s repeated use of the word, “immediately” in this chapter.
With the dawning of a New Year, the word continually leaves me with a sense of urgency. I still don’t have a sense, to what my “immediately” is, but I’m thankful to have a verse like Mark 6:50 to fall back on. “Take heart; it is I. Do not be afraid.”

APPLICATION
Trust God to reveal the “immediately”, the urgency that He is calling me to this year.
Taking Heart! Jesus always shows up! I won’t be afraid.

PRAYER
Father,
In Jesus name and by the power of the Holy Spirit, reveal to me I pray whatever it is that I’m to be urgent about. What is my “immediately”?
Whatever it is, I’ll trust that Jesus will walk in it with me.
Keep me from being like the Israelites in 1 Samuel 8 forsaking You as King and wanting one of their very own.
Keep me from being like the people at the beginning of Mark 6, that doubted the “home boy”. May Jesus forever be my “homeboy”
Give me the faith of the people at the end of Mark 6 running this way and that way, just to touch Him.
Immediately, let me touch Jesus, let me touch others with Jesus’ love.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to IMMEDIATELY!

  1. Jenniffer Hosler says:

    I think Sam 8 is evidence of human blindness. God has provided security and safety for the Isrealites all through Samuel’s life and yet when Samuel’s life is drawing short the people feel like God will not provide.

    Yes Mark provides ongoing reinforcement of my hope and faith. That Christ is with me and will provide. When I don’t know, I trust he does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

