DISCOVERING MY “IMMEDIATELY”

Today’s Reading: 1 Samuel 12 / Mark 10 / Psalm 126

REFERENCE
1 Samuel 12:20 [ESV] And Samuel said to the people, Do not be afraid; you have done all this evil. Yet do not turn aside from following the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart.
Mark 12:21-24 [ESV] And Jesus, looking at him, loved him, and said to him, You lack one thing: go, sell all that you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me. 22 Disheartened by the saying, he went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions. 23 And Jesus looked around and said to his disciples, How difficult it will be for those who have wealth to enter the kingdom of God! 24 And the disciples were amazed at his words. But Jesus said to them again, Children, how difficult it is to enter the kingdom of God!

EXPLORATION
I could not help when reading about the man that came up to Jesus asking about how to inherit eternal life think about Samuel’s response to a disobedient Israel.
We have a nation that done all sorts of evil and a man that claims to have done none.
Yet Samuel says; “you have all done this evil”.
That’s the bottom line, “we’ve all done evil”
Yet Samuel gives further instructions, “Yet do not turn aside from following the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart.”
I can’t help but wonder is Jesus wasn’t thinking about this passage and many like it when he said, “Children, how difficult it is to enter the kingdom of God!”

APPLICATION
Follow the Lord
Serve the Lord with all your heart

PRAYER

Father,
You know my heart and I’m much more like the Israelites and prone to wander, then like the man who came to Jesus asking about eternal life, claiming to have kept all the commandments.
Yet I believe that the Holy Spirit in combining the truths of the Old and New Testament stories has used them to show me my “immediately”, my “urgency”!
Jesus, saying; “ “Children, how difficult it is to enter the kingdom of God!” OK! That one gets your attention!  But Samuel relieves my anxiety when he says, You all have done evil, do not turn aside, follow the Lord, serve Him with all your heart.
My “immediately” – Follow the Lord, Serve Him with all my heart.
Now with Christ in me, and the Holy Spirit leading me, God be glorified.


About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DISCOVERING MY “IMMEDIATELY”

  1. Jenniffer Hosler says:

    Wealth is our challenge. We live in a society that is blind to its affluence and as such we have everyday foisted on us demands for our time and resources that have not worth or value. I pray for wisdom and humility and the heart to recognize what is important.

    Like

  2. Jenniffer Hosler says:

    Oh yea, again Mark 10:31 the 1st will be last and last will be first. I am getting it!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

