STAY ALERT!

TODAY’S READING: 1 Samuel 19 / 1 Chronicles 6 / Mark 14

REFERENCE
Mark 14: 38 [ ESV] Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”
Mark 14:38 [Message] Stay alert, be in prayer, so you don’t enter the danger zone without even knowing it. Don’t be naive. Part of you is eager, ready for anything in God; but another part is as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.”

EXPLORATION
Why do I sin?
There is an old saying that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks.
I think it depends on who is doing the teaching.

APPLICATION
In that I have a propensity to sin, I need the Holy Spirit’s help.
Call on Him, to keep me alert.

PRAYER
Father,
Eugene Peterson’s paraphrase nailed it! “Part of you is eager, ready for anything in God; but another part is as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.”
That’s me!
Oh that I’d be less lazy, and more eager.
Help me, Holy Spirit, in Jesus’ name.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

