Torn!

Today’s Reading: 2 Samuel 11 / John 11 / Psalm 51

REFERENCE

Psalm 51:17-18 [ESV]  For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it; you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

Psalm 51:17-18 [Message] 16 Going through the motions doesn’t please you, a flawless performance is nothing to you. 17 I learned God-worship when my pride was shattered. Heart-shattered lives ready for love don’t for a moment escape God’s notice.

EXPLORATION

Given the choice between being religious and being relational; being religious is the easy way to do life. Go through the motions, read the Bible, pray some prayers, give some money, donate some time.

Isn’t that what our “burnt offering” looks like.

But what God wants isn’t for us to perform.

What God wants is to preside.

APPLICATION

Break my heart oh God, make me ever true.

Break my heart oh God, teach me to rely on you.

PRAYER

Father,

A broken spirit, a broken heart, a contrite heart; a heart-shattered life, those phrases scare me.

The only thing that scares me more is not doing life with you.

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt – it’s torn!

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Torn!

  1. Sandie Logan says:

    Thanks Joe, so true. I still have my tues. bible study and sometimes I worry more about having the bathroom clean, house in order etc., then the actural study..those burnt offerrins can trip us up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

