WHAT IS LEFT STANDING?

TODAY’S READING: 1 Kings 9 / 2 Chronicles 8

REFERENCE
2 Chronicles 7: 19-22 [ESV]
19  But if you turn aside and forsake my statutes and my commandments that I have set before you, and go and serve other gods and worship them, 20 then I will pluck you up from my land that I have given you, and this house that I have consecrated for my name, I will cast out of my sight, and I will make it a proverb and a byword among all peoples. 21 And at this house, which was exalted, everyone passing by will be astonished and say, Why has the Lord done thus to this land and to this house? 22 Then they will say, Because they abandoned the Lord, the God of their fathers who brought them out of the land of Egypt and laid hold on other gods and worshiped them and served them. Therefore he has brought all this disaster on them.


EXPLORATION
2 Chronicles 8:1,2 [ESV] At the end of twenty years, in which Solomon had built the house of the Lord and his own house,2 Solomon rebuilt the cities that Hiram had given to him, and settled the people of Israel in them.
At the end of 20 years, the building was done. At the end of 20 years the work was done. At the end of 20 years the people were “settled in”.
How long before they became so comfortable that they quit confiding in God? How long before they turned aside? How long before they forsake God’s commandments. How long before they worshipped other gods?


APPLICATION
It happens, it could be happening right now!
Are we to comfortable? Do we need God?
This house, our body, this temple; who is being exalt?


PRAYER
Father,
When all is said and done, be glorified! Teach me your statutes, help me to follow your commandments.
In the end, whenever that may be, may people see Jesus, and not me.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

