CAN’T PRAY ENOUGH, FOR ENOUGH PEOPLE

TODAY’S READING: 2 Kings 18 & 19 / 2 Chronicles 32 / 2 John

REFERENCE
2 John 1:4 & 8 [ESV] 4 I rejoiced greatly to find some of your children walking in the truth, just as we were commanded by the Father. 8 Watch yourselves, so that you may not lose what we have worked for, but may win a full reward.
2 John 1:4 & 8 [MESSAGE] 4 I can’t tell you how happy I am to learn that many members of your congregation are diligent in living out the Truth, exactly as commanded by the Father. 8 And be very careful around them so you don’t lose out on what we’ve worked so diligently in together; I want you to get every reward you have coming to you

OBSERVATION
As I read through verse 4, I was encouraged by the Holy Spirit to pray for the faithful that I know, not every follower I know; just those that this morning God placed on my heart. as I read verse 8, I was encouraged to pray a prayer of protection for those same people. John gives us fair warning, the faithful can end up faithless tomorrow. Our job, pray for them, and pray that someone is praying for you!

APPLICATION
Continually lift one another up in prayer.

PRAYER
Father,
I’m not going to name names on paper and ink, but you know those that you’ve given to me to pray for. I lift them up in the name of Jesus, thanking the Holy Spirit for keeping them faithful and praying that they will continue to walk in the ways of the LORD. With them keep us from sin. Make us holy, be pleased.

There is an old old illustration about making a difference. A young man was walking along the shore throwing starfish that had ended up on the beach during a high tide back into the ocean. An older man, walking by, noticed what the young man was doing and asked, “Why are you bothering, don’t you see how many starfish are washed up on the beach, you can’t possibly save them all, why bother trying?” The young man, not missed a beat, scooped down and picked up another one and throw it back in the ocean saying, “Why bother, because it make a difference to that one!”  We can’t pray for everyone we know, but honestly are we praying for anyone we know?

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

