WEEK LONG MEDITATION: DAY # 1

Luke 14:33 [ESV] So therefore, any one of you who does not renounce all that he has cannot be my disciple.

Luke 14:33 [NLT] So you cannot become my disciple without giving up everything you own.

Luke 14:33 [NIV] In the same way, those of you who do not give up everything you have cannot be my disciples.

Yesterday I started a new Sunday School Series that I’ve entitled: HONESTLY – Reflections on David Platts book: RADICAL

The underlining question is: Do I really BELIEVE the Bible?

We hit a verse like this and my first question is – “Well, wait a minute what’s the context?”

Second question, “Is the verse really speaking to me?”

Third question, “What’s “all”,what’s “everything”?

Fourth question, back where I started, “Do I really believe the Bible?

If belief = obedience, what am I going to do with this verse?

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WEEK LONG MEDITATION: DAY # 1

  1. Dan Graham says:

    If I don’t really believe the bible then I’m wasting my time reading it. I believe that when we accept Christ and all he has said in the bible, we are asked to give up everything and follow him. It is a willingness to give it up not necessarily physically giving it up. Physically we may keep things that we have been given but they are given up to God’s purpose. Our Lord is in the spiritual control of our lives and that may or may not mean changing the physical presence of things in our lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

