DAY # 2 – 90 Day Fast – Thanksgiving Day!

Remembering God’s Gift, God’s Sacrifice, God’s Son – that’s Thanksgiving!

MEDITATION:

It’s Thanksgiving Morning and I can smell wonderful smells coming from the kitchen and am asking myself; “Why did you start this 90 day fast yesterday?” Because yesterday I was thinking, “there’s no better day then today.” And it still holds true.
The thing about a fast is that it isn’t really as much about what you are giving up as it is about what you are taking on. The commitment to the fast is a commitment to give up foods and to take on more time with God.
So here is my Thanksgiving wish – that I spend more time today thanking God for His many blessings than I spend eating food.
Today’s Devotional Reading was 1 Chronicles 21
• David has sinned against God – been there, done that
• David builds an altar – (believe this is the very spot the temple will later be built by Solomon)
• v 24 [ESV] But King David said to Ornan, “No, but I will buy them for the full price. I will not take for the LORD what is yours, nor offer burnt offerings that cost me nothing.”
As part of today’s reading I was challenged as follows:
During this fast, build an altar and lay a sacrifice on it that honors God. It will cost your convenience, your comfort, and it will also take some serious willpower and commitment. What will your sacrifice be during this fast? Make sure it’s a sacrifice that will cost you something. Make your commitment in writing and share it with a friend who will hold you accountable to your commitment. Pray for God to show you what He wants you to sacrifice.

PRAYER
Father,
You have blessed me in more ways than I can mention. Here is a blanket – “THANK YOU” – thank you for everything. Thank you for family, for real friends, and for the faith that you’ve placed in my heart. Thank you for forgiving my sins. Thank you for the fellowship we share.
Show me what it is that you’d have me sacrifice while I’m fasting.
When I consider what it cost you for us to be able to have a relationship – in gratitude – what can I offer you?

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in 90 Day Fast and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

