DAY # 6 – 90 DAY FAST

Decided to write out my TOP TEN THINGS TO REMEMBER WHEN FASTING.

Of course, I’m going to write them out 1 day at a time – part of fasting is – slowing down

# 10 – DON’T GET CAUGHT UP IN THE DO’S AND DON’T

Do I eat this? Don’t eat that? Is this allowed? What about this? My bad – ordered a soda with lunch and forgot, I’m just drinking water while fasting. Or find yourself drinking coffee before you wake up – that doesn’t count right? Here’s the deal at the end of the day – did you spend more time with God than you do on “any given day”! We “fast” to know Him better. It’s simply called, “TIME SPEND!” – Get to know Him, read your Bible and pray.

 

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL READING: Isaiah 58

vv. 6-8 [NLT] 6 “No, this is the kind of fasting I want: Free those who are wrongly imprisoned;
lighten the burden of those who work for you. Let the oppressed go free, and remove the chains that bind people. 7 Share your food with the hungry, and give shelter to the homeless. Give clothes to those who need them, and do not hide from relatives who need your help. 8 “Then your salvation will come like the dawn, and your wounds will quickly heal. Your godliness will lead you forward, and the glory of the LORD will protect you from behind.

Read the verses like a checklist:

Free those who are wrongly imprisoned: N/A

Lighten the burden of those who work for you N/A

Let the oppressed go free N/A

Remove the chains that bind people N/A

Share your food with the hungry OK

Give shelter to the homeless OK [just not at my house]

Give clothes to those who need them OK

And do not hide from relatives who need your help. OUCH!

Like a 2 x 4 to the back of the head – I heard God say, “Spend time with your mother-in-law, all she needs is your company”

Food 4 the hungry, shelter 4 the homeless, clothes 4 the needy – MASTERCARD!

Trip to Grandma’s house – HOLY SPIRIT!

Six days into this fasting thing and I had thought it was pretty easy, now it’s pretty personal.

 

Post Note: v.8 the upside of obedience

My salvation will come like the dawn

Wounds will quickly heal

My godliness will lead me

AND best of all: the glory of the LORD will protect you from behind.

Grandma’s house!

 

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in 90 Day Fast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

