KCC DANIEL FAST # 2

from: http://www.jentezenfranklin.org/blog/

THE VINE

I don’t have to be a prophet to know, at some point in our lives, hardships will come. If you live long enough on this earth, you’re sure enough to encounter a moment of trial, pain or weakness. Jesus himself, tells us in John 16:33 that in this life there will be trouble.

As we enter into this 21-day fast, I know that there are those out there who feel as if they are facing an impossible situation. Maybe this impossible situation has manifested itself as an addiction that you just can’t seem to break, a family member that you just can’t seem to reach, or a job that you just can’t seem to accomplish. No matter how hard you try, you keep falling short. This raises the question…How will these difficulties I’m facing ever be overcome? Well, I have news for you, you can’t do it! That’s right! I said you CAN’T do it! Now, before you stop reading and mark this as the most discouraging blog you’ve ever come across let me explain:

Take a look at John 15:5: Jesus says, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” We are the branches and Jesus is the Vine. Apart from Him we can do nothing. You see, in our own power and strength we can’t overcome. We are merely the branches that bear the fruit of victory. Jesus is the one True Vine. He is the One who has overcome. How often have we tried to accomplish something within our own human strength only to find that we can’t do it? We are the branches and apart from the Vine, Jesus Christ, we will never bear fruit. As the branches, if we disconnect ourselves from the Vine, we will lose the very Life that sustains us. Oh, that we would be the Church that practices this! I long for the church to stop leaning on human abilities and “powers” and to surrender wholly and fully to Jesus Christ, the True Vine. As a worship leader, this has been a pivotal lesson in my life. May I never depend upon my own strength or aptitude to lead others into the magnificent presence of the Almighty God. It is only by His power and might that anything will ever be accomplished within His Kingdom.

This is the beauty of fasting. As we surrender fully to our God, denying ourselves and depending solely on Him, it allows God’s supernatural power to achieve that which we could never achieve in our own strength. As we, the branches, partake in this fast together, let us stay connected to the one True Vine, Jesus Christ.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in KCC 21 DAY DANIEL FAST. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

