KCC DANIEL FAST DAY # 11

from: http://www.jentezenfranklin.org/blog

Don’t Give Up!

Do you find yourself wanting to cheat on your fast?  I mean you are over half way through and foods you would have never even thought of before now seem irresistible.  As I continue with my fast I find myself anticipating the end.  It’s like you begin counting down the days left until you can sink your teeth into that juicy steak or eat that big piece of cake.  You begin planning the first meal you’ll have after the fast and it makes you want to go ahead and “cheat.”  BUT DON’T! Don’t give up.  Don’t give in.  However, if you have found yourself “cheating,” just get back on board with your fast and keep faithful until the end.  You can do it even if you feel like giving up.

God has told us to run our race in such a way as to win.  “Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize?  Run in such a way that you may obtain it.” 1 Cor. 9:24.  We can win the prize and finish this race.  There are many times when we don’t want to wait for our breakthrough, but if we will just hold fast and wait on Him we will see our answer.  God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. (Hebrews 11:6)

I love chapter 2 in Pastor Franklin’s book, “The Fasting Edge” where he talks about the power of a made up mind.  When we have set in our heart and made up our mind that we will not give up on our fast and that we will finish this fast then we will see that we truly can complete this fast.  And the rewards we will see are truly worth the sacrifice.  If we keep seeking God, we will find Him and find ourselves in a new level of intimacy with God.

I am making up my mind to focus on God more than I ever have.  I have felt that this is an incredibly important fast and it is time for Christians to draw closer to the Lord.  We need to lean on God and find our place so close to Him that we lay our head on His chest, so to speak, like John.  I desire to walk with God in my life and that is my focus on this fast.  I want to experience the power of God in my life like never before.  I have come to realize that I am nothing without Him.  I can’t have a successful marriage, be a good parent or have a successful career without Him.  I need Him more than I ever have to help me in every aspect of my life.  I believe if we seek after Him with our whole heart we will find Him and know Him in a more intimate way through this fast.

Join with us here at Free Chapel to seek a closer walk with God.  I believe we will see God answer our prayers we are fasting for, but I also believe we will see Him in a new way, hear His voice in a new way and draw closer to Him through this fast. 

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in KCC 21 DAY DANIEL FAST. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

