40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 4

40 DITW – JOURNAL – DAY # 4

 … I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Phil. 3:12b [NIV]

READ THE ENTIRE VERSE SEVERAL TIMES, STOPPING AFTER EACH WORD TO WRITE DOWN YOUR THOUGHTS

 Ithe ninth letter of the alphabet, not the first letter of the alphabet, not the last letter of the alphabet, more towards the front of the alphabet as opposed to towards the back. – that me! I

PRESS ON – move forward w/ effort; forcefully put forward

TO TAKE – gain possession of; lay hold of

HOLD – have or adhere to – grasp, carry, or support

OF THAT – inferred – LOVE

FOR WHICH – before, – used referring to something previously mentioned

CHRIST JESUS – Son of God, Savior, Creator, Lord

TOOK – grab hold of; past of TAKE; laid hold of

HOLD – have or adhere to – grasp, carry, or support

OF ME – [of] expressing the relationship, [me] – refer to himself

REWRITE THE VERSE USING THE DEFINITIONS OF THE WORDS IN THE VERSE:

Insignificant me is moving forward some. It’s with effort that I try to gain possession of and to grasp the LOVE that since the beginning of time Christ himself laid hold of and as carried for me through himself.

PARAPHARSE THE VERSE:

Humbly I with some effort on my part am grasping the LOVE that Jesus used to grab hold of me.

APPLY IT!

How does this verse apply to your life and what will you do about it?

The verse is an encouragement and reminder that although I am not all that I can be “in Christ Jesus”; I am more than I once was. I need to press on! I need to move forward! I need to remember that no matter how much I think I love Jesus, He loves me more; and he loved me first.

PRAYER

Father,

On this Sunday afternoon, thank you for the reminder of your great love and through the power of the Holy Spirit within me help me to continue to discover just how great that love is. Truth is, this side of eternity can we really comprehend it? Nevertheless, may I continue to strive to be like Jesus. GOD IS LOVE!

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in 40 DITW and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

