40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 13

40 DITW – JOURNAL – DAY # 13

Jesus Walks on Water [Mark 6:41-51] Immediately after this, Jesus insisted that his disciples get back into the boat and head across the lake to e himself to pray. 47 Late that night, the disciples were in their boat in the middle of the lake, and Jesus was alone on land. 48 He saw that they were in serious trouble, rowing hard and struggling against the wind and waves. About three o’clock in the morning Jesus came toward them, walking on the water. He intended to go past them, 49 but when they saw him walking on the water, they cried out in terror, thinking he was a ghost. 50 They were all terrified when they saw him. But Jesus spoke to them at once. “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “Take courage! I am here!” 51 Then he climbed into the boat, and the wind stopped. They were totally amazed,

PICTURE IT! Put yourself in the story as each of the characters. With which character do you most relate?

Well you can guess that it’s not Jesus that I relate to the most. There was a day when I could water-ski with the best of them, never could barefoot! Then there is Jesus, walking out to the middle of the lake, don’t that take the cake? Then there is Jesus, seeing other people’s troubles. Then there is Jesus, coming to their aid. Then there is Jesus, saying; “Don’t be afraid, Take courage! I am here! Then there is Jesus, he steps in the boat and their troubles are gone.

In John 14:12 we read: “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.” Well you can guess that it’s not Jesus that I relate to the most. Well you can guess its Jesus that I should relate to the most.

 Be a disciple in the boat.

In the worst way, I want to relate to the disciples in the boat. Oh not rowing for all I’m worth. Not so scared of ghost that I’d pee my pants [robe] not that any one would notice, it was might wet out there. Oh no, not terrified! I want to be able to relate to the disciples the way the story ends… “They were totally amazed.”

 Be Peter [see Matthew 14:28-31] Then Peter called to him, “Lord, if it’s really you, tell me to come to you, walking on the water.” 29 “Yes, come,” Jesus said. So Peter went over the side of the boat and walked on the water toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted. 31 Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”

I am Peter, constantly moving towards Jesus, constantly falling, failing, lacking faith and doubting. I am Peter, constantly being picked up by my Jesus!

APPLY IT! How does this passage apply to your life and what will you do about it?

With each reading of God’s word I’m more and more “amazed” by Jesus. I’m learning to have more faith, doubt less, and trust more. Amazing!

PRAYER

Father,

It isn’t like I’ve been reading new stories this past week. Each and every one is familiar yet by picturing the stories; they have come alive. And so has my faith. Thank you. You’re so Amazing!

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in 40 DITW and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

