40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 15

40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 15

PROBE IT! Jesus teaches about taking up your cross Mark 8:34-38

Note: You might not be able to answer every S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S. question. Don’t force it. If you can’t think of an answer, just move on.

MARK 8:34-38 [NLT] Then, calling the crowd to join his disciples, he said, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. 35 If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it. 36 And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? 37 Is anything worth more than your soul? 38 If anyone is ashamed of me and my message in these adulterous and sinful days, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.”

S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S.

S – Is there a SIN to confess?

P – Is there a PROMISE to claim?

A – Is there an ATTITUDE to chance?

C – Is there a COMMAND to obey?

E – Is there an EXAMPLE to follow?

P – Is there a PRAYER to pray?

E – Is there an ERROR to avoid?

T – Is there a TRUTH to obey?

S – Is there SOMETHING to praise God about?

SIN to confess: “selfish ways” – definitely! Failure to take up my cross and follow is that a sin or just a shame! [Note: Have a tendency to lead and ask Jesus to follow – ouch]

PROMISE to claim: call to join the disciples / If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it.

ATTITUDE to change: need to embrace “follower”

COMMAND to obey: turn from my selfish ways, take up cross, and follow. In other words, make my life more about Jesus than about me.

EXAMPLE to follow: join the disciples!

PRAYER to pray: That the Holy Spirit would do a work in me that being a “follower” – would be my all in all!

ERROR to avoid: denying Jesus; v. 38 – If anyone is ashamed of me and my message in these adulterous and sinful days, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.”

TRUTH to obey: But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it.

SOMETHING to praise God about: The invitation to follow: v.34 If any of you wants to be my follower

APPLY IT! How does this passage apply to your life and what will you do about it?

Today, I confess my selfishness, claim the calling, will embrace “follower”, turn from my ways and in obedience seek to bring Him glory, by joining the disciples and trusting the Holy Spirit to change my attitude and lifestyle. And most of all I’ll praise Him for including me, for the invitation, for the incarnation.

PRAYER

Father,

Thank you for revealing these truths in Your Word. Thank you for the conviction to turn and follow after Jesus. Thank you that through the power of the Holy Spirit I can become and remain a follower. Today, allow me to turn from my desires to yours. Thank you for loving me so much that you’d allow me to follow. Lead on Lord Jesus, Lead on!

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in 40 DITW and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 15

  1. pig says:

    pig
    I am glad to be one of several visitants on this outstanding web site (:, thanks for putting up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

