40 DITW [Days in the Word – Day # 19]

40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 19

 PROBE IT!  A woman anoints Jesus with perfume. Mark 14:3-9 [NLT] Meanwhile, Jesus was in Bethany at the home of Simon, a man who had previously had leprosy. While he was eating a woman came in with a beautiful alabaster jar of expensive perfume made from essence of nard. She broke open the jar and poured the perfume over his head. 4 Some of those at the table were indignant. “Why waste such expensive perfume?” they asked. 5 “It could have been sold for a year’s wages and the money given to the poor!” So they scolded her harshly. 6 But Jesus replied; “Leave her alone. Why criticize her for doing such a good thing to me? 7 You will always have the poor among you, and you can help them whenever you want to. But you will not always have me. 8 She has done what she could and has anointed my body for burial ahead of time. 9 I tell you the truth, wherever the Good News is preached throughout the world, this woman’s deed will be remembered and discussed.”

Note: You might not be able to answer every S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S. question. Don’t force it. If you can’t think of an answer, just move on.

 S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S.

S – Is there a SIN to confess?

P – Is there a PROMISE to claim?

A – Is there an ATTITUDE to chance?

C – Is there a COMMAND to obey?

E – Is there an EXAMPLE to follow?

P – Is there a PRAYER to pray?

E – Is there an ERROR to avoid?

T – Is there a TRUTH to obey?

S – Is there SOMETHING to praise God about?

SIN TO CONFESS:  I confess, that sometimes I miss Jesus for who he really is. That was God sitting there, and he is sitting here in my presence each and every day, each and every moment. I seldom treat him as God. I don’t worship his enough. I get so caught up in the events of any given day that I miss the eternal. I also confess that Jesus’ words, “You will always have the poor among you, and you can help them whenever you want to.” haunt me, I do have the poor among me, what am I doing to help them?”

ATTITUDE TO CHANGE:  Need to change my attitude and outlook about Jesus, I need to treat him for who He is, Creator, Savior, and Lord.

COMMAND TO OBEY:  Worship!

EXAMPLE TO FOLLOW:  “the woman’s”

PRAYER TO PRAY:  Change my heart oh God.

ERROR TO AVOID: Being critical, when I should really be compassionate.

TRUTH TO OBEY:  Learn to be content with being anonymous, the “woman” is referred to as just that; “the woman” and yet Jesus says she will be remembered. May what I do for Jesus speak louder than who did it.

SOMETHING TO PRAISE GOD ABOUT: His constant reminders; the life lessons in the Bible, Jesus, yes I need to praise God about “JESUS”!

APPLY IT! How does this passage apply to your life and what will you do about it?

The passage was a wake up call. Don’t mess the opportunities to praise Jesus. Don’t miss the opportunities to pour myself out before him and adore him extravagantly.

PRAYER

Father,

Thank you for the gut check. Help me to see Jesus all around me. And allow me to worship You with good deeds and right intentions.  

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in 40 DITW and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

