40 DITW [Days in the Word – Day # 20]

40 DITW [Days in the Word] Day # 20

 PROBE IT!   The crucifixion. Mark 15:33-39 [NLT]

At noon, darkness fell across the whole land until three o’clock. 34 Then at three o’clock Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?” 35 Some of the bystanders misunderstood and thought he was calling for the prophet Elijah. 36 One of them ran and filled a sponge with sour wine, holding it up to him on a reed stick so he could drink. “Wait!” he said. “Let’s see whether Elijah comes to take him down!” 37 Then Jesus uttered another loud cry and breathed his last. 38 And the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. 39 When the Roman officer who stood facing him saw how he had died, he exclaimed, “This man truly was the Son of God!”

S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S.

S – Is there a SIN to confess?

P – Is there a PROMISE to claim?

A – Is there an ATTITUDE to chance?

C – Is there a COMMAND to obey?

E – Is there an EXAMPLE to follow?

P – Is there a PRAYER to pray?

E – Is there an ERROR to avoid?

T – Is there a TRUTH to obey?

S – Is there SOMETHING to praise God about?

Note: You might not be able to answer every S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S. question. Don’t force it. If you can’t think of an answer, just move on.

 SOMETHING TO PRAISE GOD ABOUT:  Jesus death allows for my life, my eternal life. Yes there is something to praise God about, bittersweet – but I’ll praise him all the more.

APPLY IT! How does this passage apply to your life and what will you do about it?

The cross and Jesus’ death are a vivid reminder of God’s great love and sacrifice. This act of selflessness should forever change me.

PRAYER

Father,

Constantly remind me of the sacrifice, the compassion, love and the selflessness demonstrated at the cross. Allow it to change me. Make me more willing to be like Jesus. Is there a sin to confess? Yes, my conduct says I don’t connect with the cross. Is there a promise to claim? Truly this man is the Son of God. Is there an attitude to change? – My cavalier consciousness of the cross. Is there an example to follow? With out a doubt, Jesus’ selflessness. Is there an error to avoid? Yes, discounting the cross like just another story. Is there a truth to obey? Absolutely – Love has a cost. Change my heart oh God – make me more like you.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

