REACHED OUT AND TOUCHED

reach out and touch

Day # 1 – 2013 RBY – READ the BIBLE in a YEAR  – Today’s Reading 1 Samuel 1 / Mark 1

When I read the 1st chapter of Mark today, I was surprised by the pace. One chapter does not equal one day in the life of Jesus! In the first chapter we go from intro to Jesus, to intro to John to the following: The baptism and temptation of Jesus, the first disciples, Jesus casting out an evil spirit, Jesus healing many people, Jesus preaching in Galilee, to last but not least; Jesus healing a man with leprosy.  In Jesus’ day, leprosy was to his culture, what aids or poverty is to ours. My heart grabbed hold of two verses from today’s reading.

Mark 1:40-41 [NLT] A man with leprosy came and knelt in front of Jesus, begging to be healed. “If you are willing, you can heal me and make me clean,” he said. 41 Moved with compassion, Jesus reached out and touched him. “I am willing,” he said. “Be healed!”

The next few days I’m going to reflect on what it is I would knelt in front of Jesus and ask him to heal. What I would ask him to change. And when I actually kneel before him it will be with the confidence of hearing v.41 echoing in my heart, mind and soul – Moved with compassion, Jesus reached out and touched him. “I am willing,” he said. “Be healed!”

With the ending of 2012 and the beginning of 2013 I can think of no greater promise than the fact that this Jesus who reached out to this man 2000+ years ago, is reaching out to me today.

I come to 2013 following this Jesus:

  • Compassionate
  • Reaching
  • Touching
  • Willing
  • Healing

May I grow in 2013 spiritually to be more like him.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

