DOUBTING FAITH

’13 RBY – READ the BIBLE in a YEAR – Today’s Reading: 1 Samuel 5 / Mark 4

Jesus-calming-the-storm

Ponderings: Mark: 4:39-41 [NLT] When Jesus woke up, he rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Silence! Be still!” Suddenly the wind stopped, and there was a great calm. 40 Then he asked them, “Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?” 41 The disciples were absolutely terrified. “Who is this man?” they asked each other. “Even the wind and waves obey him!”’

When I take a bird-eye view of Mark 4 I see lots of words, dialogue about seeds, seeds that represent the WORD OF GOD is my life. Whenever I get to the familiar parable about the farmer throwing seed and it landing on different soil there is always a little apprehension about where God’s Word is landing at this particular point in time in my life.

In the last year having read the book, “The Cure” by John Lynch, Bill McNicol, & Bill Thrall – I’ve come to understand that through GRACE – God’s Word has landed on fertile soil. But there is still a pondering in my heart about whether God’s Word is yielding 30%, 60% or 100%.

Mark goes on in the chapter to record more parables, more teaching and at the end of the day. The disciples don’t seem to be trusting him all the more.

I’m captured by the last few verses of this chapter. The disciples question, “Who is this man?” – perhaps I should be asking it myself more often.  The Bible says; – the disciples were absolutely terrified. – perhaps I shouldn’t be quite so casual with Jesus. I don’t feel a need to be frightened by Him, but He’s got to be more than just a “good old boy, or one of the gang”.

In this chapter of Mark, Jesus is begging us to listen, to pay attention, to “get it”!            Mark  4:23-25 [NLT]   Anyone with ears to hear should listen and understand.”24 Then he added, “Pay close attention to what you hear. The closer you listen, the more understanding you will be given—and you will receive even more. 25 To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given. But for those who are not listening, even what little understanding they have will be taken away from them.”

So at the end of the day, what am I left with; a hearing faith, a listening faith, a seeing faith, a trusting faith, or a doubting faith?

Just a little aside: This morning while working out at the gym I was listening to Erwin McManus speaking and my heart is filled with these words that he spoke, “…Jesus never promised no problems, he promised His presence.”

 

 

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

