DEMANDING FAITH

’13 RYB – READ the BIBLE in a YEAR – Today’s Scripture Reading: Psalm 119

Futuristic Man Running Towards Light

DO THE MATH! Ok, this might be one of the dumbest explanations you’ve ever heard. Psalm 119 – has 176 verses. So I added the numbers together 1+7+6 = 14; [too many verses] to I added those numbers together 1+4=5 Perfect! I’m going to reference 5 of the 176 verses.

1] v.37 [ESV] Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways. 1] HELP – Given a choice, I’m looking at the wrong things, at the wrong time – HELP!

2] v.55 [ESV] I remember your name in the night, O LORD, and keep your law.                    2] PATHETIC – Truth be told; the best I am at not sinning is when I’m sleeping.

3] v.105 [ESV]  Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.                                    3] DIRECTION – The Bible isn’t a manual to show us what to do, it’s a story about a man [Jesus] and it shows us what we can become.

4] v.132 [ESV]  Turn to me and be gracious to me, as is your way with those who love your name.                                                                                                                                                       4] GRACE – Life is a lot more about what God has already done, than about what I will do.

5] v.172 My tongue will sing of your word, for all your commandments are right.                 5] TESTIMONY – Grace deserves gratitude.

– I heard Erwin McManus the other day on a podcast say that we can set up some simple filters for the Bible. – God’s promises and God’s commandments.

Most of us tend to run to the promises and from the commands.

After reading this Psalm, I hope that I learn to continually run to both the promises and the commandments.

Faithfulness is demanding – GRACIOUSLY Demanding!

 

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DEMANDING FAITH

  1. Donna says:

    I had to smile at reflection #2- I’m right there with you :-).
    Love your take on #3. Never really thought about it that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

