FASTING FAITH

’13 RBY -READ the BIBLE in a YEAR – Day # 9  Today’s Scripture 1 Samuel 9 / Mark 7

prayer-fasting

Mark 7:14 [NLT] Then Jesus called to the crowd to come and hear. “All of you listen,” he said, “and try to understand. 15 It’s not what goes into your body that defiles you; you are defiled by what comes from your heart.”

I can’t help but sense the urgency in the verse, Jesus calling to the crowd, begging them to listen, imploring them to understand. I’m left wondering, “Is it my attitudes that create my appetites, or my appetites that create my attitudes?”

What do I hunger for?

I currently participating in a 21 day Daniel Fast with other people in our fellowship. Participating so that God can cleanse my heart, change my heart, create in me a new heart. Participating to curb certain appetites. Participating to change certain attitudes. Participating to come to Jesus. Participating to listen to Jesus. Participating to try to understand.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FASTING FAITH

  1. Deb Rosander says:

    Interesting for me; being “on a fast” (I call my fast, Daniel with coffee), on two occasions today I’ve spoken of fasting & prayer while talking with my peers in everyday conversation-

    Like

Leave a Reply

