PRACTICAL FAITH

’13 RYB – Day # 11    Today’s Scripture: 1 Samuel 11 / 1 Chronicles 1 / Mark 9

Practical Fatih

Mark 9:38-41 John said to Jesus, “Teacher, we saw someone using your name to cast out demons, but we told him to stop because he wasn’t in our group.” 39 “Don’t stop him!” Jesus said. “No one who performs a miracle in my name will soon be able to speak evil of me. 40 Anyone who is not against us is for us. 41 If anyone gives you even a cup of water because you belong to the Messiah, I tell you the truth, that person will surely be rewarded.

Like many of the other chapters in the Gospel of Mark this one moves along at a sprint. There are so many different things happenings, and so many lessons to learn.  From the transfiguration and God the Father, again saying; “This is my dearly loved Son. Listen to him.” to the healing of the boy as a father begs for help. Don’t we all know someone clings to these words: “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!”

But the verse that grabbed my heart the most was verse 38 and it was just three little words: “using your name” – they speak to me of a practical faith. “Using your name” – shouts out like a challenge, like an invitation, and like a privilege.

In the name of Jesus, who will I pray for today?In the name of Jesus, who will I bless?

In the name of Jesus, what miracle will I ask for?
In the name of Jesus, what wrong might I right?

May this reading be a blessing to those that read it, and may you be inspired to bless others, in the name of JESUS!  –  That’s Practical Faith!

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PRACTICAL FAITH

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    Reblogging this great message at LightWriters. (5wise.wordpress.com)

    Like

  2. Susan Michaels says:

    Reblogged this on LightWriters and commented:
    Faith Works…in practical ways.Great message from a wonderful faith blogger.

    Like

Leave a Reply

