WONDERING FAITH

’13 RBY – READ the BIBLE in a YEAR – Day # 21 Today’s Scripture Reading: 1 Samuel 21 / Psalms 34 /56.

Wondering Faith

After reading today’s Scripture Readings that are quite puzzling, putting the pieces together came down to a word. “king”[#1] – v.2 “The king has sent me on a private matter,” David said. “He told me not to tell anyone why I am here. I have told my men where to meet me later. v.8 David asked Ahimelech, “Do you have a spear or sword? The king’s business was so urgent that I didn’t even have time to grab a weapon!”

What if the “king” David is referring to isn’t Saul, but the LORD! Than David doesn’t appear quite so deceitful, and it would appear that if he is being deceitful it’s to protect Ahimelech the priest. For surely Saul will be chasing after David, and now Ahimelech will be able to say that David said he was doing the “king’s business”.  OK! Maybe? I’m just wondering.

Well then, maybe; but what about the when David goes to King Achish of Gath. The Scriptures tell us that he overheard the king’s officers speaking against him and so he pretends to be insane. Now our first thought might be, “David, isn’t trusting in God, David is being deceitful again, SEE! – Even David doesn’t trust God all the time.

But what if, JUST WONDERING, the Spirit of the Lord – David’s king – spoke to him and told him to pretend to be insane. The Scriptures in 1 Samuel 21 tell us: v.12 David heard these comments and was very afraid of what King Achish of Gath might do to him. BUT, the Scriptures in Psalm 56 tell us: v.3 “But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you.” And then in v.9: “My enemies will retreat when I call to you for help. This I know: God is on my side!’

So just a couple of questions. Why did Ahimelech the priest in fear provide? And why didn’t King Achish just have David killed instead of dismissing him.

GOD THING! JUST WONDERING. Perhaps the KING of Kings, the LORD of Lords showed up. That’s a wondering faith.

Added after posting Blog entry on Facebook: [#1] TEXT REFERENCE: Polzin [Samuel and Deuteronomist, p.195]suggests that the unnamed “king” in David’s answer is – in the narrator’s mind, at least – not Saul but the Lord, who “charged” David with a certain matter and gave him “instructions” – Expositor’s Bible Commentary Volume 3 page 727.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

