CONSISTENT FAITH

’13 RBY – READ the BIBLE in a YEAR                                                                                        Today’s Scripture: 1 Samuel 27 / 1 Chronicles 9

Pray Always

1 Samuel 27:1 But David kept thinking to himself, “Someday Saul is going to get me. The best thing I can do is escape to the Philistines. Then Saul will stop hunting for me in Israelite territory, and I will finally be safe.”

“But” – Ok, that’s not a good way to start off a chapter – warning flags go up.  “But David” – Oh, this should be alright, we’re talking “David!” Soon to be “King David”, “Faithful and True David” “Mighty David” “Loyal David” etc.

“But David kept thinking to himself” – READ NO MORE – this is going to end badly! But I did read on and I was right. David my hero, seemed to have quit trusting God. David takes matters into his own hands and become deceitful, murderous and pretty little in my eyes today.

How might the story have been different if David had taken his concerns, his cares, his comrades to the Lord in pray, instead of: “thinking to himself”?

How might my story be different if I did the same? Would my faith grow by leaps and bounds instead of three steps forward and two steps back?

I’m thinking a consistent prayer life, might just produce a consistent faith.

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

