OBEDIENT FAITH

’13 READ the BIBLE in a YEAR  TODAY’S READINGS: 2 Samuel 3 / 1 Chronicles 12 / John 3

Obedient Fatih

When you’ve spend much of your life reading the Bible sometimes you can find yourself just blowing by different sections of Scripture because them seem so familiar. John 3:16 is perhaps one of the most famous verses in the Bible and I’d guess that the 3rd chapter of John is one of the most read chapters in the Bible. While reading the chapter this morning the end of the chapter which is really statements, ended up asking me questions.

John 3:31-36 [NLT]

31 He has come from above and is greater than anyone else. Greater than anyone else, How did I miss that, how is it possible that I forget that?

We are of the earth, and we speak of earthly things, but he has come from heaven and is greater than anyone else. Isn’t the Bible just repeating itself here, doesn’t it bear repeating? Do I get it? HE IS THE GREATEST!

32 He testifies about what he has seen and heard, but how few believe what he tells them! Oh I say that I believe, but just how much do I really believe?

33 Anyone who accepts his testimony can affirm that God is true. What testimony am I accepting? That He’s the greatest, that He is Savior? That He is Lord? That He is God? That He is Love?

34 For he is sent by God. He speaks God’s words, for God gives him the Spirit without limit. 35 The Father loves his Son and has put everything into his hands. 36 And anyone who believes in God’s Son has eternal life. What is believing? Is believing just a nod to God, “Yeah, this all sounds good, I’m in.” As if God is on pins and needles just waiting for me to “get it”! Didn’t this start of saying, “He is greater than anyone else”? Isn’t it crazy how I can somehow make my salvation more about me than about him?

Anyone who doesn’t obey the Son will never experience eternal life but remains under God’s angry judgment.” Obedience, isn’t that the litmus test of faith? Obedience, isn’t that the essence of faith? What does obedience look like? What does obeying the Son look like?

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

