PROMISING FAITH

’13 READ the BIBLE in a YEAR  Today’s Reading: 2 Samuel 11 / John 11 / Psalm 51

Proming Faith

While reading Psalm 51 this morning I was moved by the fact that David wasn’t making promises to God. He was claiming promises from God.

v.1 Have mercy on me, O God, because of your unfailing love. Because of your great compassion, blot out the stain of my sins.

David claims the promise of God’s unfailing love. He trusted in God’s compassion, and in God’s mercy.

v. 10 Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a loyal spirit within me. Again David points to what God can do for him, rather than what He can do for God.

And perhaps my favorite verse from Psalm 51. Verse 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and make me willing to obey you.

…make be willing to obey you, I’ve got to quit white-knuckling obedience and trust the God that raised Lazraus from the death, the God that forgave David his act of adultery and murder. Trust that God to make me willing to obey.

Holy Spirit, Thank you for being in my life and making me aware of God’s promises.  Thank you for reminding me of God’s character. Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a loyal spirit within me.

Holy Spirit, lead me to repentance and continually break my spirit. Thank you for making me mindful today that our relationship is so much more about You. Your provision, your plan and your promises.

17 The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God

 

 

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

