CULTIVATING FAITH

2013 READ the BIBLE in a YEAR
Today’s Scripture Readings: 2 Samuel 19 / Psalms 136, 137

CULTIVATING FAITH

In all honesty I don’t know if it’s impatience or laziness, or something else all together. But I like it when God speaks to me through a certain verse in the Bible or perhaps a paragraph but when He decides to use a whole chapter, I become a little overwhelmed and want to run. I wanted to run this morning, it would have been so easy to  go to Psalm 136 and to write out. “Give thanks…his faithful love endures forever” – title the journal entry
“Enduring Faith” and I’m done.

But no, 2 Samuel 19 continues to pull on my heart strings and I’m drawn to the life lessons there even if they seem to be all over the chapter. So let me try to summarize.

1] Lessons from verses 1-8 At verse 1 we read that: “Word soon reached Joab that the king was weeping and mourning for Absalom.” And then at  verse 5 we read: “Then Joab went to the king’s room and said to him…”   LESSON ONE – DO CONFRONTATION – sometimes we need to have the hard conversations.

2] Lesson from verses 11-14: LESSON TWO – COMPROMISE – Learn from David to deal with contention by using compliments

3] Lesson from verses 18-23 LESSON THREE – CONFESS – may I be more like Shimei when I’ve been wrong about something, or someone.

4] Lesson from verses 24-30 LESSON FOUR – BE CONTENT – oh to have Mephibosheth attitude:  “Give him all of it,” Mephibosheth said. “I am content just to have you safely back again, my lord the king!”

5] Lesson from verses 31-40 LESSON FIVE – BE COURTEOUS – oh to have David’s kindness.

6] Lesson from verses 41-43 LESSON SIX – COMICAL – in the last few verses of this chapter there is just nonsense going on there – you got to know when things just don’t made sense. Use some COMMON Sense!

So today’s reading was like drinking water out of a fire hose. LOTS more than I wanted, probably much less than I need.

I’m going to title today’s reflections, CULTIVATING FAITH, faith isn’t something that happens all at once, and some days it grows more than other days.  Let’s just call today a growth spurt, as the Holy Spirit gives us the courage to do confrontation, the ability to bend, the humility to confess, the wisdom to be content, and the common sense do to waste our efforts on rhetoric.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

