Hero’s Faith

2013 READ the BIBLE in a YEAR     Today’s Reading: 1 Chronicles 22-24 / John 20

little fiction on a friday, I’ve always been fascinated with the conversation in John 20 between Jesus and Mary.
John 20:14-18 [ESV]
14 Having said this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing, but she did not know that it was Jesus.
15 Jesus said to her, “Woman, why are you weeping? Whom are you seeking?” Supposing him to be the gardener, she said to him, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have laid him, and I will take him away.”
16 Jesus said to her, “Mary.” She turned and said to him in Aramaic, “Rabboni!” (which means Teacher).
17 Jesus said to her, “Do not cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father; but go to my brothers and say to them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.'”
18 Mary Magdalene went and announced to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord”-and that he had said these things to her.

When Jesus tells Mary “Do not cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father…” My imagination goes wild. Here is how it plays out in my mind.

Jesus dies and goes down to Hell and beats the snot [ I’ve had a cold for a week – guess that’s how I came up with snot] anyway, he beats the snot of the devil, told him his days are numbers and is head up to heaven to spend some time with the Father before his resurrection.

But Jesus being Jesus knows how distressed Mary is and on his way to heaven stops off at earth and comforts her.

Now remember, this is just where my imagination takes me. And it most probably didn’t go down like that at all. But a beat down on the devil and a caring for Mary, makes Jesus a capital H – Hero is my book.

A Hero’s faith.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

