SPEAKING OF FAITH

Speaking of faithNothing in me believes that I’m the only one. In fact it’s why some people probably don’t try reading the Bible from cover to cover. Or perhaps it’s why some people that do try never complete it. There are those pages in the Bible that, “you don’t understand what’s there” – and perhaps even worst there are those pages that; “you don’t understand why they are there.” It’s tough even when we don’t understand what we are reading, it’s real tough when we don’t understand why we are reading it at all.

This morning I woke up and opened my calendar to see what my daily reading was for Sept. 4th. and I saw that it said, Numbers 7-9 and Luke 4. Everything in me just wanted to skip to the passage in Luke. I had a hunch that I’d glean something from the Gospel of Luke, but Numbers, why bother? I turned to the passage to take a peek, not convinced that I’d bother reading it and as I turned to Number chapter 7 – the first thing I saw was that it was 89 verses long and on my audio Bible chapter 7 was 11 minutes and 14 seconds long and that was just chapter 7. Tempted to skip it, I hit play and started reading along and listening to Numbers chapter 7. It repeated itself 12 times at verse 84 it starts doing the math from the previous 83 verses and I’m wondering, why where those 83 verse there? Why not just start the chapter with verse 84? And then I got to verse 89 and I was humbled. v.89 [NLT] – “Whenever Moses went into the Tabernacle to speak with the Lord, he heard the voice speaking to him from between the two cherubim above the Ark’s cover—the place of atonement—that rests on the Ark of the Covenant. The Lord spoke to him from there.”

I don’t know why every word on every page is in the Bible, and there are words on different pages in the Bible that I don’t understand. But this morning I was reminded that when I go there, when I read my Bible, God speaks to me.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '13 RBY -Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

