SAVING GRACE

YOUVERSION BIBLE: Reading God’s Story: One-Year Chronological Plan Day # 3

Today’s Scripture Readings: Genesis 3-5

I don’t have to read very far into the Bible before my imagination takes over and I start asking more questions than there are immediate answers. Sometimes reading the Bible I feel a little bit like my two year old grandson – always asking of the text: “WHY! WHY! WHY!”

WHY? – that number of stars? WHY? – just that many planets?
WHEN? – is enough? Enough varieties of birds, and cats, and cows and, and, and.
WHY? – did the devil speak through a snake, of all the animals, seriously a snake?
WHY? – is Cain worried about other people killing him? HOW do “other people” fit into the picture?
WHY? – did people live so long? How did people live so long? I think of all the aches and pains I already have at 59 years old and cannot imagine crawling out of bed at 895 years old. WERE woman menopausal, did they hot flash for eons?

WHY? – was God so sorry? Genesis 6:6,7 [NLT] So the LORD was sorry he had ever made them and put them on the earth. It broke his heart. 7 And the Lord said, “I will wipe this human race I have created from the face of the earth. Yes, and I will destroy every living thing—all the people, the large animals, the small animals that scurry along the ground, and even the birds of the sky. I am sorry I ever made them.”

HOW? – great is God’s Grace? Genesis 6:8 [NLT] But Noah found favor with the LORD.

Noah finds favor, and God changes His mind. I exist because of God’s SAVING GRACE.

saving grace

And in thankfulness I should strife to be like Noah: Genesis 6:9 [NLT] This is the account of Noah and his family. Noah was a righteous man, the only blameless person living on earth at the time, and he walked in close fellowship with God.

GOALS FOR 2014:

WALK with God – FELLOWSHIP
SIN less – FORWARDNESS
CARE more – FAITHFULNESS

and one last question? Who decided to make the giraffe’s neck “just that long”, the Father, Son, or Holy Ghost?  #justaskingWHY

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '14 RBY - Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

