ALL THAT!

dawn1You ever wake up in the morning and like you are REALLY awake. It’s over, don’t try to roll over! This morning was one of those morning for me. So I got up made some coffee, had an english muffin and started reading. I read a book for a while, [Cold Tangerines, by Shauna Niequist] and then I switched  over to my Daily Bible Reading Plan . Today’s reading was 1 Chronicles 27-29 and my heart dropped, I just wanted to turn back to Shauna’s delightful book.
Why because I equate “Chronicles” with long lists of names I can’t pronounce and frankly they bore me. I’ve yet to figure out WHY they are even in the Bible. But this morning in the middle of the reading I discovered some wonderful, powerful words.

1 Chronicles 28:9-10 [NLT] 9 “And Solomon, my son, learn to know the God of your ancestors intimately. Worship and serve him with your whole heart and a willing mind. For the Lord sees every heart and knows every plan and thought. If you seek him, you will find him. But if you forsake him, he will reject you forever. 10 So take this seriously. The Lord has chosen you to build a Temple as his sanctuary. Be strong, and do the work.

As David spoke to his son Solomon years ago, I felt like God was speaking to me this morning.
* learn to know the God of your ancestors intimately.
* worship and serve him – with your whole heart and a willing mind
* if you seek him, you will find him.
* if you forsake him, he will reject you forever
* take this seriously
* the Lord has chosen you to build a Temple [ THINK CHURCH, THINK PEOPLE]
* be strong, and do the work.

Instruction, Encouragement, Challenge, Call, Command

What am I going to do with it?
What are you going to do with it?

I’m going to enjoy it like a Cold Tangerine – eat it up.

Amazing “all that” in the middle of a lot of names.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in '14 RBY - Read the BIBLE IN A YEAR, DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, OFF THE BENCH, Touched 2 Touch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

