BESIDE

psalm-16-8Psalm 16:7-11 [NLT]

7 I will bless the Lord who guides me;
even at night my heart instructs me.
8 I know the Lord is always with me.
I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me.
9 No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice.
My body rests in safety.
10 For you will not leave my soul among the dead
or allow your holy one to rot in the grave.
11 You will show me the way of life,
granting me the joy of your presence
and the pleasures of living with you forever.

Father,
“Beside” is there a greater word? #Immanuel – God with us!
The psalmist reminds me again that You guide me, that You are always with me, that You are right “beside” me, showing me the way of life. My greatest act of praise or worship happens when I get lost in your righteousness. I confess that there are a thousand things competing for my attention and devotion and I entertain far too many of them. Forgive me when I try pushing you away and thank you for never leaving my side. There will come a day when you will show me life eternal and I will physically live in your presence with you forever. Until that day comes continue to open the eyes of my heart and let me care more about others than I care about myself. May I have the privilege of sharing the hope that is within me, the hope that is “beside” me, the hope that is eternal. Jesus!

THE BEST IS YET TO COME. If God is our greatest good, we get what can’t be lost and will only increase—infinitely. The Lord is at our right hand. To be at someone’s right hand is to be their advocate in court or support in battle or companion for a journey. In Christ this is all literally true (Acts 2:24–36). Because he died and rose for us, he is our representative in heaven (so we are completely forgiven) and companion on earth (so we are intimately loved). And someday we will not just sense him at our side but see him face to face. In our resurrected bodies that will be endless, unimaginable pleasure (verses 9–11). Now we have nothing to fear.

Prayer: Lord, as I lay down in sleep last night and rose this morning only by your grace, so keep me in a joyful, lively remembrance that whatever happens, I will someday know my final rising—the resurrection—because Jesus Christ lay down in death for me and rose for my justification. Amen. May Your Word which is in my heart find it’s way to my lips to share with someone in need.
FULLNESS OF JOY

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BESIDE

Leave a Reply

