Greater than My Imagination

Psalm18.19Psalm 18:7-19 [NLT]
Then the earth quaked and trembled.
The foundations of the mountains shook;
they quaked because of his anger.
8 Smoke poured from his nostrils;
fierce flames leaped from his mouth.
Glowing coals blazed forth from him.
9 He opened the heavens and came down;
dark storm clouds were beneath his feet.
10 Mounted on a mighty angelic being,* he flew,
soaring on the wings of the wind.
11 He shrouded himself in darkness,
veiling his approach with dark rain clouds.
12 Thick clouds shielded the brightness around him
and rained down hail and burning coals.*
13 The Lord thundered from heaven;
the voice of the Most High resounded
amid the hail and burning coals.
14 He shot his arrows and scattered his enemies;
great bolts of lightning flashed, and they were confused.
15 Then at your command, O Lord,
at the blast of your breath,
the bottom of the sea could be seen,
and the foundations of the earth were laid bare.
16 He reached down from heaven and rescued me;
he drew me out of deep waters.
17 He rescued me from my powerful enemies,
from those who hated me and were too strong for me.
18 They attacked me at a moment when I was in distress,
but the Lord supported me.
19 He led me to a place of safety;
he rescued me because he delights in me.

When David called, God began to act on his behalf. The great deliverance (vv. 7-19) is depicted as a storm. And David was now king of Israel. Ten years of exile were ended, his life had been spared, and his ministry lay before him. [Wiersbe]

My reflections through prayer

Father,
Your might is beyond my imagination. With each new day You bring deliverance to those You love, to those You delight in. You support us, you rescue us, You defend us, You draw us up out of the deep waters. The waters of pain, fear, fatigue, failings. Your bring health – physically, emotionally, spiritually, mentally. I repent that sometimes I get bullhead and just want “a day for myself” – that never works out to be as satisfying as I had imagined. Forgive my selfishness and the sins that accompany it. When I read these verses I was reminded again- the battle belongs to the Lord. Verse 19 says … he rescued me because he delights in me. Let me live in that truth today and bring you the glory and honor due you.

From the book: Songs of Jesus:
THE HINDSIGHT OF FAITH. David says God came down from heaven in storm (verses 8–9 and 12–13) and wind (verse 15) to save him. While he did these things at other times (cf. Joshua 10:11; Exodus 14:21), God never literally did them to help David escape from Saul. With hindsight, however, David now sees that God was active beneath the surface of things, even when he seemed absent at the time, “because he delighted in me” (verse 19). Christians know that God came down from heaven for them because he “loved [us] and gave himself for [us]” (Galatians 2:20) on the cross and delights in us in Christ (Colossians 1:22).

Prayer: Lord, the very fact that another day has been added to my life is due to your undeserved mercy and active presence. As I age another day, let me grow in the knowledge that I am completely accepted and fully loved, despite my flaws and failures, in Christ. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

