MIRROR, MIRROR ON THE WALL

mirrorPsalm 18:20-27 [NLT]
20 The Lord rewarded me for doing right;
he restored me because of my innocence.
21 For I have kept the ways of the Lord;
I have not turned from my God to follow evil.
22 I have followed all his regulations;
I have never abandoned his decrees.
23 I am blameless before God;
I have kept myself from sin.
24 The Lord rewarded me for doing right.
He has seen my innocence.
25 To the faithful you show yourself faithful;
to those with integrity you show integrity.
26 To the pure you show yourself pure,
but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd.
27 You rescue the humble,
but you humiliate the proud.

God’s character and covenants never change, but His dealings with us are determined by the condition of our hearts. – Wiersbe

Reflections from my heart
Some days you read the scriptures, some days you let the Scriptures read you. Confessions of a Ragamuffin

Father,
I read in the psalm of David’s attributes and your response and I sheepishly recognize that I fall short. David says you reward him for doing right, I get to right most of the time but not all the time, thank you for Your forgiveness. David says You restore him because of his innocence, I lost my innocence long ago yet I’m mindful that I’ve been redeemed by the blood of Jesus. David had kept Your ways and not followed evil. I’ve walked away from You time and time again and know evil on a first name basis and yet I have but to turn around and time and time again I hear You calling my name. David writes that He has followed Your regulations and never abandoned Your decrees – I’m not sure I know all Your regulations and decrees, I know Jesus says to love the Lord your God with all your soul, heart, mind and strength and to love your neighbor as you love yourself. I fail to get to “ALL” with my soul, heart, mind and strength and I really don’t know my neighbors all that well. I know this I’m more like Jesus today than I was yesterday, and with the help of the Holy Spirit maybe I get to “all” someday. David said that the Lord rewarded him for doing right, I’ve seen that in my life too. David wrote that the Lord has seen his innocence, and I believe You have seen mine to, not the innocence of being blameless, but rather the innocence of ignorance. Because of Jesus I do experience Your faithfulness, Your integrity speaks into my life, so you must see something in me. I can do honest, I just can’t seem to do holy. I am pure of heart, trusting in Jesus as my Savior. But that same heart can be deceitful so shrewdly draw me back to Yourself when I sin. Rescue me again I pray. Your mercies, Your grace, Your love are unwarranted BUT they are mine and so I leave this scripture today seeing Jesus in the mirror be it ever so dimly, but seeing Him all the more. #Immanuel. Amen

From Tim & Kathy Keller’s book “Songs of Jesus”
Friendship with God. The word “faithful” (verse 25) refers to pledged love between covenant partners. God responds in kind (verses 25–26) so he can be not just a King but also a friend. Aristotle thought it impossible that humans could be friends with a god, because friends have things in common, and can say, “You, too?” But in becoming human, God’s first great act of friendship, he became like us, drawing near to us so we could draw near to him. Since he humbled himself to get near us, only the humble, not the haughty, can be his friends. In his second great act of friendship, he gave his life for us (John 15:13). In our suffering, then, we can look at Jesus and say, “You, too?”

Prayer: Lord, it seems unimaginable that the Lord of the universe would also be the friend of my heart, but so it is. Through listening to your Word, through honest and constant prayer, through serving you even as you loved me, let me grow in friendship and intimate fellowship with you. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

