TRAINED HANDS

Praying handsPsalm 18:34-45 [NLT]
34 He trains my hands for battle;
he strengthens my arm to draw a bronze bow.
35 You have given me your shield of victory.
Your right hand supports me;
your help has made me great.
36 You have made a wide path for my feet
to keep them from slipping.
37 I chased my enemies and caught them;
I did not stop until they were conquered.
38 I struck them down so they could not get up;
they fell beneath my feet.
39 You have armed me with strength for the battle;
you have subdued my enemies under my feet.
40 You placed my foot on their necks.
I have destroyed all who hated me.
41 They called for help, but no one came to their rescue.
They even cried to the Lord, but he refused to answer.
42 I ground them as fine as dust in the wind.
I swept them into the gutter like dirt.
43 You gave me victory over my accusers.
You appointed me ruler over nations;
people I don’t even know now serve me.
44 As soon as they hear of me, they submit;
foreign nations cringe before me.
45 They all lose their courage
and come trembling from their strongholds.

My reflections in prayer:
Father,
I read in this psalm about how your helped David who had real enemies and battles to fight and I am mindful that this same God, You the mighty One continually help me fight my own battles and I praise You and thank You and worship You because that is who You are.
You help me fight not against people but against the forces that compete for my allegiance, sins and idols, hurts, habits and hang ups.
You train my hands for battle and I pray – Help me Lord Jesus.
Your shield of victory is the Holy Spirit in me, both convicting and counseling me.
When I am mindful that the battle belongs to the Lord, it is over before it begins.
But sometimes in my weakness, or perhaps my wickedness, I’m in bed with the bad guys. How often is selfish or selfless but a flip of the coin. How often when I hear of other people’s problems do I just whisper, “Not now” – like there is ever a good time to be bothered. And how is it that one day a situation can be a burden and the next day a similar situation is a blessing. Battles!; not people, but predicaments.
Lord, as You helped David, help me to Your glory. You have blessed me to be a blessing. Give me the strength, the determination, the willingness to always be available for kingdom business. Amen

From “Songs of Jesus” – Keller:
TRUE GREATNESS. Amid the celebration of military prowess exercised in defense of David’s life against those sent into the wilderness to kill him is a remarkable statement—(literally) “your gentleness has made me great” (verse 35). The word comes from the word for “humble” or “meek.” It was the gentleness God exercised toward an imperfect human being that allowed David his success, and it was the gentleness God taught him through hard lessons over the years that, in the end, was his true greatness. Indeed, the height of the Lord’s greatness was revealed in his ability and willingness to become weak and die for us.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, you said that you are “gentle and humble in heart” (Matthew 11:29)—but I so often am not. You were not concerned about your glory and reputation but I am. You never paid people back in anger but I do. Let your gentleness toward me make me gentle to others. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

