AWE!

northernlightsPsalm 19:1-6 [NLT]
1 The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
The skies display his craftsmanship.
2 Day after day they continue to speak;
night after night they make him known.
3 They speak without a sound or word;
their voice is never heard.
4 Yet their message has gone throughout the earth,
and their words to all the world.
God has made a home in the heavens for the sun.
5 It bursts forth like a radiant bridegroom after his wedding.
It rejoices like a great athlete eager to run the race.
6 The sun rises at one end of the heavens
and follows its course to the other end.
Nothing can hide from its heat.

Father,
I remember sitting on a dock on a lake in Northern Wisconsin when I was in high school and seeing the northern lights for the first time in my life. An array of colors and stars that glimmered. Your amazing, your creation beyond describable. Teach me to be in awe more often, each day show me your glory. Your glory surrounds me and I miss it more often than not because I’m so consumed with myself, forgive me. Open my eyes to see the marvel of your majesty. Let your praises be on my lips. Bring back the awe! Your awesome; let me share your wonder with others.

From Timothy and Kathy Keller’s book: SONGS OF JESUS

THE SOUNDLESS WORD. Why do mountains and oceans, the sun and stars move us as deeply as great art? The answer is because they are great art. Nature speaks to all (verse 2) without audible words (verse 3). It is nonverbal communication that there is a God, that the world is not an accidental collocation of molecules but the meaningful work of an artist’s hands. We should be reverent before our environment. It also means that all people know, at some level, about God, truth, meaning, wisdom, and beauty, even if they suppress that knowledge (Romans 1:18–21). Nevertheless, good, nonverbal communication is easily misinterpreted. We need something more.

Prayer: Maker of heaven and earth, your creation speaks and sings to us of your greatness. May I neither despise nature, failing to care reverently for its integrity, nor worship nature, failing to let it point me beyond itself to your glory, which even it only “fitfully reflects.” Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

