My God

 
 My God

Psalm 22:1-8 [NLT]

1 My God, my God, why have you abandoned me? 

Why are you so far away when I groan for help? 

2 Every day I call to you, my God, but you do not answer. 

Every night I lift my voice, but I find no relief. 

3 Yet you are holy, 

enthroned on the praises of Israel. 

4 Our ancestors trusted in you, 

and you rescued them. 

5 They cried out to you and were saved. 

They trusted in you and were never disgraced. 

6 But I am a worm and not a man. 

I am scorned and despised by all! 

7 Everyone who sees me mocks me. 

They sneer and shake their heads, saying, 

8 “Is this the one who relies on the Lord? 

Then let the Lord save him! 

If the Lord loves him so much, 

let the Lord rescue him!”

Father,
I have but to read the first phrase and I’m drawn to the cross. I’m drawn to Jesus.

I have but to reflect on the first word to find an eternal hope. For if David and Jesus both while feeling abandoned cried out “My God, My God” even in feeling abandoned they still trusted! They didn’t call out “God!” They called out “My God”. Forgive me when I lend on my god’s, instead of trusting in My God! Holy Spirit teach me to call out in good times and bad times, “My God, My God” Whatever life brings my way, let me trust in your love, it was proved at the cross, it was proclaiming at Jesus resurrection, it will be pronounced at His second coming. “My God, My God.” Glory be to My God!

From “Songs of Jesus” 
A WORD-SATURATED LIFE. Jesus answered every one of Satan’s assaults with passages from Deuteronomy. As he was carrying the cross he cited the prophet Hosea, and as he was dying in agony he quoted both Psalm 22:1 and Psalm 31:5. Jesus was so saturated in the Word of God that it spontaneously came to his mind, enabling him to interpret and face every challenge. There are modern imitations of what Jesus had—relaxation techniques, stress management, positive thinking, mystical forms of contemplation. But nothing can duplicate it. God’s Word was what sustained God’s incarnate Word when he lived and when he died. Accept no substitutes.

Prayer: Lord, let your word be not merely something I believe but something that dwells richly inside me, so it reshapes all my thinking and feelings and even the very foundations of my heart. Let your promises, summonses, and declarations be my strength. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

