everything he has done…

sermon-series-banner-suffering Psalm 22:27-31[NLT]
The whole earth will acknowledge the Lord and return to him.
All the families of the nations will bow down before him.
28 For royal power belongs to the Lord.
He rules all the nations.
29 Let the rich of the earth feast and worship.
Bow before him, all who are mortal,
all whose lives will end as dust.
30 Our children will also serve him.
Future generations will hear about the wonders of the Lord.
31 His righteous acts will be told to those not yet born.
They will hear about everything he has done.

Father,
Sharing Jesus, I don’t do that often enough, Holy Spirit give me a nudge and the boldness to share Your wonders more often. Today I have a graveside service to perform for a seventeen year old boy who was randomly shoot along with others while leaving a party. We are so attuned to the thought that all lives will end in dust. Some of them from our perspective way before their time. But we bow down to a God that has conquered death. We trust in Jesus, who is so powerful that He conquered the grave. Today we reach for God’s mercies, God’s grace. May it shine brightly in our compassion. May we worship more than we weep. Trusting Jesus for salvation today. Trusting Jesus for salvation tomorrow.
I serve a risen Saviour,
He’s in the world today;
I know that He is living,
Whatever men may say;
I see His hand of mercy,
I hear His voice of cheer,
And just the time I need Him
He’s always near.
… They will hear about everything he has done …. Amen

From “Songs of Jesus”
HE HAS DONE IT! Our mission to the world tells the good news of God’s salvation to all classes (the poor in verse 26 and the rich in verse 29), to all races and nations (verse 27), and to all generations (verse 30). What is this universal message? It is that salvation is something not that we attain but that he attains and gives. “He has done it!” cries David. “It is finished,” cries Jesus (John 19:30), using the Greek tetelestai, a term that has the connotation of payment. “I have paid your debt to the last penny; I have drained your cup to the last drop,” he says. There is now no condemnation left for us (Romans 8:1).

Prayer: Father, my mind knows the doctrine—that my salvation and standing with you depend not on my works but on Christ’s works. Yet my heart doesn’t fully believe it, and so I go back and forth between pride and self-loathing, depending on my performance. Let my heart fully grasp that “salvation is from the Lord” (Jonah 2:9). Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

